Monster Hunter Wiki Forum
Welcome to the Monster Hunter Wiki Forum!

MH4Ultimate releases this Friday, February 13th!

Monster Hunter Wiki Forum

Monster Hunter information and General Talk

Get ConnectedHomeFAQSearchRegisterLog in
What's hunting you?

Share | 

Newbie to MH question.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
I.S.T.
Kelbi

Thank you Points : 0

PostSubject: Newbie to MH question.   Mon Apr 22, 2013 4:07 pm

I played some MHFU, but it was last year, and I never got that far. I have some knowledge, but not a lot.

So, I have a question. How good are the various weapons at cutting tails in this version? I understand that GS is pretty good at that, but I'm not too sure about the other weapons.
Back to top Go down
Sephastus
Diablos

Thank you Points : 29

Monster Hunter Information
3DS friends code:
Primary MH Title: Monster Hunter Generations
Country of Origin (for connection Speed use): USA

PostSubject: Re: Newbie to MH question.   Mon Apr 22, 2013 4:22 pm

Anything with a blade can cut tails. You just have to keep at it. Heck, you can even cut tails with a boomrang, as long as you have weakened the tail enough.

As for ease of getting to the tail... then yes, the Greatsword has the reach advantage, followed by the long-sword. With a shock-trap, any of the other weapons are viable since most monsters will crouch their tail to a reachable level. Hammers and Hunting Horns, lances, and Bows, however, can't cut tails, unless you get a boomrang. The Gunlance is in a group of its own, since it can do slicing damage in one of its moves, which could cut a tail if properly executed. Guns have slicing shots, but fair warning: do damage to the tail with other shots before you try to cut it with the slicing shot.. or you will just waste your ammo.
Back to top Go down
evahnulahm
Seltas

Thank you Points : 18

3DS friends code: 0276-0576-8464
Country of Origin (for connection Speed use): US